Okay. So, I’m going to stop the story here for now. I was going to continue on, but with these chapter lengths and the flow of the story, I’d be stopping right in the middle of something good and that would annoy me.

I intended to write this as Middle Grade. I didn’t do a great deal of research in this–which ALWAYS bites me in the butt later–and I just started writing something my eight-year-old step-daughter could read.

It turned out to be more of what I would call early reader.

So, then I decided to do a little research, only to discover that there isn’t a lot differences between the two. Odd, right?

They’re both chapter books. Early reader tend to be called chapter books. Awesome. They’re both about the same length, though as the MG characters get older, the books can be longer and the plots a bit more complex.

Great. Not helpful.

So, then I decided to dig out a few books I have lying around the house that are early reader chapter books, what I would call MG, and a couple YA.

The biggest leap, of course, was between MG and YA.

The main characters are old enough to perceive things. They’re able to see beyond their own nose.

That’s something that annoyed me with Tick-Tock. Kitty was so self-minded that she didn’t see much of anything of her surrounding except the obvious.

The word choices have to be small. Not small-minded, just small and age relevant.

This is, probably, one of the biggest differences between early reader and MG. The vocabulary gets wider. Well, and the character can perceive a great deal more of their surroundings.

There were a few other things, but these were the big ones for me, and, really, the only thing I could really button down to say, “This is early reader,” or “This is MG.”

So, this week was a learning opportunity for me. When I started this post, I sincerely thought I’d failed. But as I researched this topic more, I realized I hadn’t failed quite as spectacularly as I thought I did.

