Answering interviews is something that I didn’t even  think about when I started down this path to publication. It wasn’t until I entered into my first blog tour and then became the interview coordinator of ParaYourNormal that I really started paying attention to the do’s and don’t’s of interviewing.

The first thing to realize is that there are only so many ways interviewers can ask you about your book. The need to be creative is on you. Most, if not all, interviewers have a set list of questions that they hand out to all interviewers. I know at ParaYourNormal, I have four sets of standard questions. Depending on what I found out about you will depend on what questions I send you. This is why I push authors so hard to put good information on their

About the Author page!

As an interview coordinator, it’s very frustrating when I get answers back that are like, “Yeah. I did that.” The interview is left feeling flat. Those are also the interviews that don’t get a lot of hits.

When I started out filling out my own interviews, I was so nervous that I didn’t want to say much. A lot of my interviews were a little flat as well. However, with The Hands tour, there are just so many interviews, I knew I had to get it right. I have more interviews in this tour than blog posts and reviews put together. People want to get to know me.

No pressure.

This is where you’re going to be some day, too. People want to get to know YOU. Now, they don’t want to know your shoe size, or what you like to eat. Though, periodically, those questions come up just for fun. They want to know what makes you TICK!

Okay so, remembering that the questions are oftentimes the same, you also have to make each one slightly different. Otherwise, people are going to be like, “Oh, man. Another interview. I’ve already read them all.” Right?

There are a few questions that I will copy and paste the answer to. Especially if I’ve answered the same question in quick succession, but I try to limit it to one question per interview. All the rest, I try very hard to ensure I have something witty and something new to offer.

But HOW?!

You’re a writer, dear! You have your own brand of psychosis! Own it and run with it!

Talk about naming your walls, or brainstorming with your dog, or picking ideas from the heads of your kids. Find something that makes you human.

Doing a lot of interviews is hard! Be prepared to reach deep and let people into what makes you you.  Just be careful of what information you give out about the Real People in your life because they tend to appreciate their privacy!

